Dragonfly art journal page

I created the background of this journal page with gesso, acrylic paints, inks, and tissue paper to add some texture. I stamped on the dragonfly and coloured it with pens, then added some scraps of trim and tiny jewels to the page. I had fun cutting words out of an old book to create a found poem. I was amazed that the book I was using, one that I had put aside ages ago to use for cutting up, had lots of words that related to my journal page.

I love dragonflies and I look out my kitchen window every day onto this one that lives on the wall of my studio.

I am playing along with the Things with Wings challenge at Try it on Tuesday.

22 thoughts on “Dragonfly art journal page

  1. Wow, what spectacular journal pages! I love all the background texture that you created with the gesso, paint and tissue paper 😁. The stencilling and drips are wonderful and your stamped dragonfly is so pretty with its beautifully coloured wings. The poem matches the beauty of your page perfectly and the dragonfly on your studio looks lovely too! Thanks so much for joining us at Try it on Tuesday with your amazing journal pages! J 😊 x

    Like

  2. A beautiful dragonfly page – so full of motion and lovely colours and techniques!
    So great you joined us at Try It On Tuesday with this beautiful project!
    Thank you very much!
    We would be happy to see you linking to ART-JOURNAL-JOURNEY-CHALLENGE as well, where we currently have the theme of:
    “Inspired by”
    and I have seen that you even have a whole wonderful journal stared with the theme of inspiration! A beautiful blog here and I will follow you and will visit frequently !
    Susi from
    FROEBELSTERNCHEN

    Like

Leave a comment