Garden Journal – December

December has been a busy month in the garden with lots of growth – both plants and weeds! I love this time of the year with all the lovely berries that are around. We have a berry farm nearby that sells fresh raspberries, blueberries and boysenberries. I made my first ever batch of raspberry jam this month. Ten jars, some of which I gave away, the rest stored in the pantry for the year ahead.

My favourite tree, the Jacaranda, is resplendent this month with its purple flowers blooming in gardens and on roadsides all over town.

We are picking zucchinis every day. They are so versatile, grated into a salad, chopped into stir-fries, or baked into vegetable dishes, cakes and loaves. Two of my favourite dishes are Zucchini and Carrot Slice, and Zucchini Blueberry loaf, both easy to make and a great way to use up that surplus of zucchinis!

Garden journal - December

Garden journal December2

This Zucchini and Carrot Slice makes a delicious vegetarian meal, and is nice cold the next day.

Zucchini and Carrot Slice

250 g zucchini
1 large carrot
1 onion, chopped
1 teaspoon garlic paste
1 cup grated cheese (I use hard goat’s cheese)
1 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup oil
salt & pepper to season

Grate carrot and unpeeled zucchini and place in a large bowl. Add all the other ingredients and mix to combine. Pour into a greased dish and bake at
180ºC for 50 minutes.

Zucchini and Carrot Slice

Zucchini & Carrot Slice

This is a healthy, nutritious loaf that can be made with fresh blueberries when in season, or frozen blueberries out of season.

Zucchini Blueberry Loaf

(makes 2 loaves)

4 eggs
2 cups raw sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup oil
2 cups white flour
1 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups peeled, grated zucchini
1 cup blueberries

Beat eggs. Gradually add sugar, then vanilla and oil. Add sifted dry ingredients. Stir in zucchini and blueberries. Divide mixture between 2 loaf tins and bake at 180ºC for 50-60 minutes.

Zucchini Blueberry Loaf

This loaf is nice spread with a little honey.

Slice of Zucchini Blueberry Loaf

2 thoughts on “Garden Journal – December

  1. Your zucchini bread looks wonderful! I have never made jam. The people you gave it too are lucky! We are in our winter season – I wish it was spring here. 🙂 I love your journal – it is so pretty!

    Like

    • Thank you! The jam-making was easier than I thought. I am going to make some blueberry jam next. I enjoy working on my garden journal and looking back to see what was flowering and what we were harvesting each month.

      Like

Leave a comment